News Detail

USDA Secretary Issues Additional Drought Disaster Designations in Illinois


The Illinois Department of Agriculture News Release of August 23, 2023 reports USDA Secretary Vilsack has issued additional counties with disaster designation for drought that occurred during the 2023 Illinois growing season.

Primary counties: McDonough*, McHenry, Mercer
Contiguous counties: Boone, Cook, DeKalb, Fulton*, Hancock*, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Knox*, Lake, Rock Island, Schuyler* and Warren*

Primary and contiguous counties are eligible for the same assistance.

*County also declared under a previous drought designation.

JULY 19, 2023 News Release:

USDA Secretary Vilsack issued four separate disaster declarations for the state of Illinois due to tornadoes and drought that occurred during the 2023 Illinois growing season. USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation.

The following counties have received USDA Disaster Designations. Primary and contiguous counties are eligible for the same assistance.

Designation 1: A tornado that occurred during March 31, 2023:
Primary Counties:
Bureau, Clark & Crawford
Contiguous Counties: Coles, Henry, Lawrence, Putnam, Stark, Cumberland, Jasper, Lee, Richland, Whiteside, Edgar, LaSalle & Marshall 

Designation Number 2: A tornado that occurred during April 4, 2023:
Primary County: Fulton
Contiguous Counties: Knox, Mason, Schuyler, Warren, McDonough, Peoria & Tazewell

Designation Number 3: Tornados and high winds that occurred during March 31, 2023, through April 5, 2023:
Primary Counties: Henry, Mercer, Rock Island & Sangamon
Contiguous Counties: Bureau, Knox, Menard, Stark, Cass, Logan, Montgomery, Warren, Christian, Macon, Morgan, Whiteside, Henderson & Macoupin

Designation Number 4: Drought
Primary County: Randolph
Contiguous Counties: Jackson, Monroe, Perry, St. Clair & Washington

Hancock, Adams, Calhoun and Pike counties were included in a previous drought designation as contiguous counties included in a Missouri disaster designation.

A Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency to provide emergency loans to producers recovering from natural disasters. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. Those eligible should contact their local USDA Service Center to ask questions or file a Notice of Loss.