News Detail

President-Elect Appoints COVID-19 Task Force


On Monday, November 9th, as his first public act since becoming President-Elect, Joe Biden appointed an advisory board of top public health experts to guide his transition team's COVID-19 planning.

The new advisory board will be led by three prominent Biden advisors - former FDA Commissioner David Kessler, former Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, and Marcella Nunez-Smith, an Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Public Health and Management at Yale University.

Other members of the Advisory Board include:

  • Luciana Borio, Vice President at In-Q-Tel.
  • Rick Bright, immunologist, virologist and former Director of the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority and former Deputy Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response at the Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Ezekiel J. Emanuel, oncologist and Vice Provost for Global Initiatives and Chair of the Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy at the University of Pennsylvania.
  • Atul Gawande, Professor of Surgery at Brigham and Women's Hospital and at Harvard Medical School.
  • Celine Gounder, Clinical Assistant Professor at the NYU Grossman School of Medicine.
  • Julie Morita, Executive Vice President of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
  • Michael Osterholm, Director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota.
  • Loyce Pace, Executive Director and President of Global Health Council.
  • Robert Rodriguez, Professor of Emergency Medicine at UCSF School of Medicine.
  • Eric Goosby, Professor of Medicine at UCSF School of Medicine.

The President-Elect's unveiling of the members of the advisory board comes as the virus continues to surge across our country.