News Detail

Governor's Original Disaster Proclamation Expanded to Include 13 Additional Counties


On July 25, 2023, the original Disaster Proclamation issued by Governor Pritzker based on the severe weather, tornadoes, and derecho that affected communities across the state from June 29th through July 4th was expanded to include an additional 13 counties.

Taxpayers in these additional counties may also request waivers of penalties and interest on state taxes if they cannot file their returns or make payments on time. They are eligible to request a waiver of penalties and interest for income, withholding, sales, specialty, and excise taxes.

The original disaster proclamation included Coles, Cook, Edgar, Hancock, McDonough, Morgan, Sangamon, and Washington Counties and now has been expanded to include Calhoun, Christian, Clark, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Logan, Macon, Monroe, Moultrie, Pike, Scott, and Vermillion Counties.

Read more at the following link News Release (July 25, 2023) including important information for taxpayers/property owners in these affected communities seeking assistance.